What Is Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)? - ITU Online

What Is Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)?

Quick Answers To Common Questions

The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) is a globally recognized certification for IS audit control, assurance, and security professionals. It is issued by ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association) to individuals who demonstrate proficiency in the field of information systems auditing, control, and security through passing an exam and fulfilling professional experience requirements. The CISA certification validates an individual’s expertise in managing vulnerabilities, ensuring compliance, and instituting controls within an enterprise, making it a benchmark for those seeking a career in information systems audit.

Associated Exams

  • Certifying Body: ISACA
  • Exam Format: Multiple choice
  • Number of Questions: 150
  • Duration: 4 hours
  • Passing Score: 450 out of 800

Exam Costs

  • ISACA Member: Approximately $575
  • Non-member: Approximately $760

Exam Objectives

  • Information System Auditing Process
  • Governance and Management of IT
  • Information Systems Acquisition, Development, and Implementation
  • Information Systems Operations and Business Resilience
  • Protection of Information Assets
Information Security Manager

Information Security Manager Career Path

Propel your career forward and be part of an essential member of any management team as an Information Security Manager. This advanced training series is designed specifically for those want to move up into a management position in the IT field.

Frequently Asked Questions Related to Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Who should pursue the CISA certification?

Individuals aiming for a career in information systems auditing, control, and security.

How long is the CISA certification valid?

The CISA certification is valid for 3 years and requires continuing professional education for renewal.

What prerequisites are needed for the CISA exam?

There are no specific educational requirements, but ISACA recommends at least 5 years of professional experience in information systems auditing, control, or security.

Can I take the CISA exam without experience?

Yes, you can pass the exam first and then gain the required experience within a five-year period after passing the exam.

How difficult is the CISA exam?

The CISA exam is considered challenging due to its comprehensive coverage of information systems audit and control practices.

Key Term Knowledge Base: Key Terms Related to Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Understanding the key terms related to the Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification is crucial for anyone preparing for the exam or working in the field of information systems audit, control, and security. This knowledge base not only helps in grasping the complex topics covered in the certification but also aids in applying these concepts in real-world scenarios to enhance the reliability and security of information systems.

CISA (Certified Information Systems Auditor)A globally recognized certification for IS audit control, assurance, and security professionals, granted by ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association).
ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association)An international professional association focused on IT governance, providing knowledge, certifications, community, advocacy, and education on IS audit and control, risk, cybersecurity, and IT governance.
Information Systems AuditThe examination and evaluation of an organization’s information technology infrastructure, policies, and operations.
Control ObjectivesStatements of the desired result or purpose to be achieved by implementing control procedures in a particular IT activity.
GovernanceThe framework of rules, relationships, systems, and processes within and by which authority is exercised and controlled in organizations.
Risk ManagementThe process of identifying, assessing, and controlling threats to an organization’s capital and earnings.
CybersecurityThe practice of protecting systems, networks, and programs from digital attacks aimed at accessing, changing, or destroying sensitive information.
IT GovernanceThe framework that ensures that IT investments support business objectives, resources are used responsibly, and risks are managed appropriately.
Business Continuity Planning (BCP)The process involved in creating a system of prevention and recovery from potential threats to a company.
Disaster Recovery (DR)Strategies and processes to recover and protect a business IT infrastructure in the event of a disaster.
IT InfrastructureThe set of hardware, software, networks, facilities, etc., required to develop, test, deliver, monitor, control, or support IT services.
Internal ControlA process, effected by an entity’s board of directors, management, and other personnel, designed to provide reasonable assurance regarding the achievement of objectives.
ComplianceThe act of being in alignment with guidelines, regulations, and/or legislation.
Audit PlanningThe process of preparing a detailed plan for conducting an audit.
Audit EvidenceInformation collected during an audit to substantiate findings and conclusions.
Security PolicyA set of documented guidelines on how an organization and its employees should manage and secure company resources.
Vulnerability AssessmentThe process of identifying, quantifying, and prioritizing the vulnerabilities in a system.
Penetration TestingAn authorized simulated cyberattack on a computer system, performed to evaluate the security of the system.
Segregation of Duties (SoD)A preventive control to reduce the risk of errors or fraud by dividing responsibilities among different people.
Information Security Management System (ISMS)A framework of policies and procedures that includes all legal, physical, and technical controls involved in an organization’s information risk management processes.
Control FrameworkA structured and coordinated system of procedures and techniques designed to direct and control resources to achieve a set of objectives.
IT Asset Management (ITAM)The process of ensuring an organization’s assets are accounted for, deployed, maintained, upgraded, and disposed of when the time comes.
Incident ManagementThe process of identifying, managing, and reducing the impact of incidents on the business.
Business Impact Analysis (BIA)The process of determining the criticality of business processes and the impact of a disruption to those processes.
Change ManagementThe approach to transitioning individuals, teams, and organizations to a desired future state.

This glossary provides a solid foundation of key terms and concepts for anyone involved in CISA certification or working in related fields, facilitating a better understanding of the material and promoting effective communication within the profession.

LIFETIME All-Access IT Training

All Access Lifetime IT Training

Upgrade your IT skills and become an expert with our All Access Lifetime IT Training. Get unlimited access to 12,000+ courses!
Total Hours
2,619 Training Hours
13,281 On-demand Videos


Add To Cart
All Access IT Training – 1 Year

All Access IT Training – 1 Year

Get access to all ITU courses with an All Access Annual Subscription. Advance your IT career with our comprehensive online training!
Total Hours
2,627 Training Hours
13,409 On-demand Videos


Add To Cart
All-Access IT Training Monthly Subscription

All Access Library – Monthly subscription

Get unlimited access to ITU’s online courses with a monthly subscription. Start learning today with our All Access Training program.
Total Hours
2,619 Training Hours
13,308 On-demand Videos

$14.99 / month with a 10-day free trial